RSS Feed

Do you know how much newborns need?…

Do you know how much newborns need?…

5-7ml. Most of the time they are spending at the breast is for them to learn how to latch and to stimulate your body to produce more milk.

They are also nursing often in the beginning for comfort. Just imagine how tired they are after birth and if it was long or hard then they need time. Un-swaddle them, lay them on your chest, ask for a warm blanket, and if they don’t do it on their own don’t worry give them time. The hour after delivering my son was wonderful. That first hour after birth is so amazing. They are learning what you smell like, feel like, and how your milk tastes. They realize this taste just like home! because your colostrum tastes like your amniotic fluid they are used to. Take the time to fall in love with your new baby. They are wonderfully made, aren’t they?

P.S. Even if you don’t want to breastfeed your baby have them lay on your chest skin to skin. Let your new baby learn your smell and how you feel. You both need time to meet each other.

Lisa Horstkamp, CLC

About Blessed Are The Mothers

My name is Lisa Horstkamp and I am a private practice lactation counselor and a Birth and bereavement Doula. I became a certified doula with stillbirthday as of October 2015. I am a Certified Lactation Counselor (CLC) with The Healthy Children Project of April 2015. CLC Scope of practice: http://talpp.org/forms/scope%20of%20practice.pdf SBD Doula Principles of Service (Scope) http://www.stillbirthday.com/2011/11/15/principles-of-service/ I'm a southern woman born and bred. I am raising my "Southern Bell" and "bubba" the way I see fit. I started out breastfeeding my oldest but without good support I ended up using formula and not meeting my breastfeeding goal. I breastfed my youngest for 33 months, until he no longer requested, far out reaching my original goal of 6 months. It would not have been possible without the abundant support from my IBCLC and other breastfeeding moms in the support group at our local hospital. I'm on path to become an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant in the next few years and looking forward to increasing support for my area.

Leave a Reply

